Four Nations Ensemble Concert Series: Redefining Rococo

October 22, 2017 @ 2:00 pm

Redefining Rococo
The Four Nations Ensemble
The Ellie Warburg Residency Concert Series

Free with museum admission. Seating is limited—tickets will be issued at the door beginning at 10am Sunday, October 22.

Redefining Rococo celebrates the extraordinary gift of more than 1,350 works of art from the collection of financier J. Pierpont Morgan to the Wadsworth Atheneum 100 years ago. Planned in conjunction with the exhibition, Morgan: Mind of the Collector, the program complements the fanciful decorative objects in the exhibition through a music program that highlights the seductive, and even subversive, nature of the arts and music in eighteenth-century European courtly culture. Leclair, Telemann and other period composers.

Pascale Beaudin, soprano
Charles Brink, flute
Olivier Brault & Edson Scheid, violin
Kyle Miller, viola
Loretta O’Sullivan, cello
Andrew Appel, harpsichord and director

Ouverture, Opus 13, #1 in G major, Jean Marie Leclair
Le Berger Fidele, cantata for voice and instruments, Jean Ph. Rameau
Sonata for violin and cello, Opus 8 # 10 in A major, Pietro Locatelli
Sonata for flute, viola, and continuo in F major, Johann Gotlieb Graun
Paris Quartet III in G major, G. Ph. Telemann