Morgan Great Hall
This space is the centerpiece of the Junius Spencer Morgan Memorial building, a gift from J. Pierpont Morgan in memory of his father. On June 26, 1915, Morgan Great Hall—then called Tapestry Hall—was opened to the public, decorated with sculpture from the collection and tapestries on loan from J. P. Morgan, Jr., a museum trustee.
The museum’s soaring picture gallery now features a salon-style hanging of ninety five European and American works from the 16th–19th centuries, and includes works by artists such as John Singleton Copley, Frederic Lord Leighton, Constance Mayer, Giovanni Paolo Panini, Jusepe de Ribera, and Peter Paul Rubens.
Explore Morgan Great Hall from anywhere!
A virtual tour sponsored by Art Bridges.